Lido just became Ethereum's single largest validator

Lido holds 9.8M ETH ($26B+ TVL) and is now Ethereum's single largest validator entity.

Lido just became Ethereum's single largest validator

How Big Is Lido Right Now? The 9.8M ETH Number Explained

Ethereum's validator set has a concentration problem with a name attached to it. As of late September 2026, one protocol — not an exchange, not a custodian — sits atop the stake distribution, and the numbers behind that position are more nuanced than a single headline figure suggests.

Lido is a liquid staking protocol that pools ETH deposits, runs them through a curated set of node operators, and issues stETH as a transferable receipt — and it is currently the single largest entity in Ethereum's validator set. Lido's own dashboard reports 9,797,947 ETH staked, $26,166,450,307 in total value locked, a headline staking APR of 2.2%, and $3,296,325,849 in cumulative rewards paid to stakers since 2020 . That makes Lido roughly 23% of all staked ETH — but about 62% of the liquid-staking segment specifically.

Quick Answer: Lido is Ethereum's largest single validator entity, with 9,797,947 ETH staked and $26.17bn in TVL as of September 2026 . That equals roughly 23% of all staked ETH, but about 62% of the narrower liquid-staking market — two figures that answer two different questions.

Those two percentages are the most commonly confused statistics in this discussion, so it is worth separating them cleanly. The 23% figure — published in Lido's February 2026 tokenholder update , down from a reported 32% peak in late 2023 — measures Lido against every staked ETH, including exchange custody, institutional validators and solo stakers. The ~62% figure measures Lido against roughly 14.4M ETH in the liquid staking category alone, per DefiLlama data reported by Bitcoin.com News as of June 15, 2026 . The first number tells you how much of Ethereum's consensus Lido influences. The second tells you how little competition it faces in its own product category.

MetricValue (Sept 2026)What it measures
ETH staked via Lido9,797,947 ETHAbsolute protocol scale
Total value locked$26,166,450,307Dollar exposure (ETH-price sensitive)
Headline staking APR2.2%Net yield to stETH holders after the 10% protocol fee
Cumulative rewards paid$3,296,325,849Distributions since December 2020 launch
Share of all staked ETH~23%Consensus-layer influence
Share of liquid staking segment~62% of ~14.4M ETHCompetitive position in its category

Third-party tracking broadly corroborates the protocol's own reporting. DefiLlama data reported by Bitcoin.com News put the Ethereum liquid-staking segment at 14.41 million ETH and roughly $25.66bn in combined TVL as of June 15, 2026, with Lido alone accounting for 8.89 million ETH — about 61.66% of that segment . That kind of dollar-denominated snapshot deserves a caveat rather than a celebration: through 2026, TVL swings have been driven far more by ETH's spot price than by net new deposits. A rising TVL line does not, on its own, evidence deposit growth.

The longer arc is one of dilution, not expansion of relative share. Lido's share of all staked ETH peaked near 32% in late 2023 . Institutional entrants — ETF issuers, corporate treasuries, regulated custodians — have since absorbed a larger slice of new stake, pulling Lido's network-wide share down to 23% while its grip on liquid staking held firm. The field below Lido has reshuffled too: Beaconcha.in data reported by The Block put Binance second at 9.15% of all staked ETH as of January 6, 2026, followed by Ether.fi at 6.09%, Coinbase at 5.12% and staking infrastructure firm Figment at 4.12% — Kraken no longer ranks among the largest entities after discontinuing its U.S. staking-as-a-service program in 2023 . Both trends are real, and reading only one of them produces a badly wrong picture of where Lido actually stands.

Why No Single Competitor Comes Close

No rival protocol or exchange currently holds more than a fraction of Lido's liquid staking position: Lido accounts for roughly 62% of the approximately 14.4 million ETH in liquid staking derivatives, while its nearest challenger, Ether.fi, sits well below that base despite growing far faster . Ether.fi expanded roughly 550% over twelve months against Lido's approximately 15%, but compounding off a much smaller deposit base means the gap narrows slowly rather than closing. Growth rate and absolute scale are two separate questions, and only the second determines who controls Ethereum's validator set today.

The largest centralized validator entities are exchanges, not protocols. As of January 6, 2026, Beaconcha.in data reported by The Block put Binance at 9.15% of all staked ETH, Coinbase at 5.12% and staking infrastructure firm Figment at 4.12%; Kraken no longer appears among the top entities after discontinuing its U.S. staking-as-a-service program in 2023 . Those are meaningful shares of the network, but exchange-held stakes are custodial products, not transferable tokens. A Coinbase staking balance does not circulate through Aave V3 or Maker; wstETH does, which is why the liquid staking segment behaves as a distinct market where Lido's share is concentrated rather than diluted.

EntityTypeApprox. share of staked ETHLiquid / transferable?12-month growth
LidoLiquid staking protocol~23% network-wide; ~62% of liquid stakingYes (stETH / wstETH)~15%
BinanceCentralized exchange~9.2%CustodialNot disclosed
CoinbaseCentralized exchange~5.1%CustodialNot disclosed
KrakenCentralized exchangeExited U.S. staking in 2023; no longer top-5CustodialNot disclosed
Ether.fiLiquid staking protocolMinority of liquid staking segmentYes~550%

Regulation has moved in liquid staking's favor. On February 9, 2023, the SEC charged Kraken with failing to register its crypto-asset staking-as-a-service program, and Kraken agreed to discontinue the U.S. product and pay $30 million to settle the case . The posture since then has reversed: SEC staff guidance issued September 25, 2026 confirmed that staking ETH does not convert those tokens into securities . That removes the specific legal overhang that once made custodial staking programs the riskier business line, and it applies broadly rather than to Lido alone.

The structural explanation for the gap is timing. Lido DAO was established in December 2020, weeks after the Beacon Chain went live, with a first protocol draft written in March 2020 by Vasily Shapovalov, who had joined P2P Validator that February and become its CTO the same year . At that moment Rocket Pool was the only other Ethereum liquid staking protocol in development, and it required node operators to post a substantial RPL self-bond — a design choice that constrained how quickly operator capacity could scale (source: Epicenter Podcast transcript).

"In early 2020 Rocket Pool was the only other liquid staking protocol being built for Ethereum, and it required node operators to put up a significant RPL bond," — Vasily Shapovalov, CTO at P2P Validator and Lido contributor (source: Epicenter Podcast, #412 transcript).

Lido's permissionless deposit model — any amount in, stETH minted 1:1 out — absorbed the retail demand that Ethereum's 32 ETH validator minimum and lack of native delegation left unserved . Once stETH became the collateral asset DeFi lending markets integrated first, the resulting liquidity depth became its own barrier to entry. Later protocols compete for deposits; Lido competes on a distribution network already wired into $26.1bn of value locked . That is the advantage Ether.fi's growth rate has to overcome, and at current bases it would take years.

What Changed in 2026: Lido V3 and stVaults

Lido V3 is the protocol's 2026 architectural rewrite, live on Ethereum mainnet since January 30, 2026, and its defining feature is stVaults — modular staking infrastructure that lets a staker customize operator selection, policies, fees and reward logic while keeping access to stETH liquidity . That is a structural break from the pooled model that built the 9.8M ETH position: instead of one set of terms for everyone, a depositor can now specify who validates their stake and on what commercial basis. The rollout ran in phases — Phase 2 on January 29, 2026, followed by Phase 3, permissionless minting, on March 2, 2026 .

The division of labour matters for anyone assessing counterparty exposure. The base protocol retains validator management, accounting and withdrawals; each stVault is a separate contract deployed and operated by one specific node operator, and it accepts stake from a single address, with a DeFi Wrapper layer enabling multi-user access . In practice that means a vault depositor concentrates operator risk deliberately rather than diffusing it across the roughly 30-entity curated set, and accepts whatever fee and policy terms that operator writes — a trade the pooled product never offered.

Named launch partners were Northstake, Solstice, P2P.org, Chorus One, Everstake and Linea . The stVaults directory has since broadened to list DSRV, Tane, Bware Labs, Nodes.Guru, PoPsTeam and SSV Network alongside them . Linea's presence is the notable one: an L2 rather than a professional validator shop, which points at where the DAO expects vault demand to come from — protocol treasuries and application-layer partners wanting staking terms written to their own specification.

The commercial push was explicit. Because Ethereum's entry queue was long, contributors cut the stVaults Lido Infrastructure fee from 1% to 0% through March 31, 2026, for identified vaults holding above 250 ETH in total value . Read that as a customer-acquisition subsidy against a stated DAO target of 1 million ETH staked through custom vaults plus institutional wrappers such as stETH-based ETFs — waiving the take rate on exactly the deposit sizes that move the number, for exactly the window when queue waits made competing on yield alone impossible.

The second 2026 addition targets a different buyer. EarnUSD stablecoin vaults followed in March 2026, sitting beside EarnETH as packaged yield products rather than raw staking. Current figures on lido.fi show EarnETH at $220.8M TVL against a 3.0% APY, and EarnUSD at $46.4M against 6.9% . Both are small next to $26.1bn in protocol TVL, and the gap between them is instructive — the dollar-denominated product yields more than double the ETH product but has attracted roughly a fifth of the capital, which suggests the constraint on Lido Earn is distribution and trust rather than rate competitiveness.

For a reader deciding whether V3 changes anything about holding stETH, the honest answer is: not yet, materially. stVaults are additive infrastructure aimed at large and institutional depositors; the rebasing stETH position, the 10% reward fee and the curated operator set all continue to work as before. What V3 does change is the shape of Lido's future risk — a growing share of stake sitting in single-operator contracts with bespoke terms, subsidised into existence during Q1 2026, and now priced at full fee since April.

Does Lido's Size Make It Riskier? Dual Governance and the NEST Buyback, By the Numbers

Lido's answer to concentration-risk critics is structural rather than rhetorical: dual governance, which originated as LIP-28 (proposed May 8, 2025) and is now live, gives stETH holders a veto over LDO tokenholder decisions through a dynamic timelock that lengthens as opposition grows, escalating once protest deposits reach 1% of total staked ETH . In practice that means the people whose ETH is actually at stake can stall a governance action they consider hostile, without needing to hold LDO at all. It does not shrink Lido's validator footprint, but it changes who can be outvoted.

The second mechanism worth understanding is NEST, activated August 14, 2026. NEST is a permissionless daily routine executed through CoW Swap using Stonks v2 that converts 50% of daily DAO staking revenue above a $40M annualised baseline — roughly $109,000 per day — into LDO, with purchases delivered to the DAO treasury via an Aragon Agent contract in a launch "Treasury-only" mode . Its guardrails are tight by design: $50,000 per day maximum and $10M on a rolling 365-day basis .

Here is the part that matters for anyone pricing LDO on buyback expectations. Daily DAO staking revenue ran around $75,000 in August 2026 and last cleared the $109,000 trigger in April 2026, so NEST has been largely idle since it went live. As of September 9, 2026 the allocator contract held roughly 41 stETH from a single August 28 transfer, with no outbound LDO allocation executed . The mechanism is real, audited and on-chain; the flow it is supposed to carry has not yet arrived.

That distinction is frequently blurred in discussion threads because a separate, much larger LDO purchase did happen. A one-time LDO Accumulation Program approved April 13, 2026 accounts for the reported acquisition of 10,025,866 LDO for 1,591 stETH . That was a discrete DAO decision, not a recurring revenue-linked flow, and conflating the two overstates NEST's current throughput by several orders of magnitude.

Three concrete risk questions fall out of this, and they are worth separating:

  • Consensus-layer concentration. Lido spreads its stake across a curated set of professional node operators rather than concentrating it with a single operator . The curated set spreads client and infrastructure failure, but the DAO still coordinates it.
  • Slashing. Ethereum penalises validator misbehaviour through slashing, and that residual penalty is ultimately underwritten by stETH holders rather than by the DAO treasury .
  • Governance capture. This is the risk dual governance directly addresses, and the 1%-of-staked-ETH protest threshold is the specific number to watch.

Regulatory overhang, long the loudest objection to staking intermediaries, has eased materially. The SEC brought its February 2023 enforcement action against Kraken specifically over unregistered staking-as-a-service, requiring Kraken to discontinue the U.S. program and pay $30 million ; by contrast, SEC staff guidance issued September 25, 2026 confirmed that staking ETH does not by itself make those tokens securities . For a protocol whose entire value proposition is intermediated staking, that removes one tail scenario while leaving the concentration debate exactly where it was.

The honest read: dual governance is a meaningful check that most competing protocols do not offer, and NEST is a well-specified value-accrual mechanism that is currently switched on but not flowing. Neither changes the underlying fact that a single DAO coordinates the largest block of Ethereum's validator set. What they do is make the failure modes legible, with published thresholds a holder can monitor — the $109,000 daily trigger, the 1% protest deposit, the 10% reward fee — rather than left to discretion.

The Treasury Math: Can Lido Afford Its Own Growth?

Lido's revenue problem is a price problem, not a volume problem. The DAO's February 2026 tokenholder update cut 2026 guidance from $53.9M total revenue and $45.3M in staking fees — modelled at $2,712 ETH — down to $40.6M and $33.4M at roughly $2,000 ETH, and flagged a treasury gap of about $20.5M if spending stayed flat . Deposits kept growing through that period; the fee stream simply gets denominated in a volatile asset, so a 26% ETH drawdown maps almost directly onto the operating budget.

The DAO's first lever was pricing. Its take rate — the share of protocol revenue retained by the treasury rather than paid out to node operators and infrastructure — rose from 4.96% to 6.11% . That is an increase of roughly 23% in retained share against a headline protocol fee that stayed at 10% of staking rewards , which matters for stakers: the cost to the depositor did not change, the internal split did.

The second lever was product revenue that does not scale with ETH price alone. Lido Earn reached approximately 61,000 ETH in TVL and $1M in annual recurring revenue , and WisdomTree's physical Lido Staked Ether ETP — trading on Xetra, SIX and Euronext since December 2025 — held around $36M in assets . Neither line is large relative to a $26bn protocol, but the ETP is the clearest evidence so far that regulated wrappers can route institutional money into stETH without those allocators touching a wallet.

MetricFeb 2026 guidance (at $2,712 ETH)Revised guidance (at ~$2,000 ETH)Unaudited H1 2026 actual
Total revenue$53.9M$40.6M$15.94M total net DAO revenue
Staking fees$45.3M$33.4M$27.51M gross / $15.71M net
DAO take rate4.96%6.11%6.11%
Flagged treasury gap—~$20.5M if spending held flat—

The half-year numbers landed close to the revised path. Unaudited H1 2026 accounts show $27.51M in gross staking revenue, $15.71M net, and $15.94M in total net DAO revenue — annualising to roughly $32M net against the $33.4M staking-fee target, with the gross-to-net spread showing how much of the headline fee is consumed before it reaches the treasury. For context, Lido's DAO treasury has historically held a diversified mix of LDO, stETH and stablecoins large enough to absorb a $20.5M shortfall for several years, though not one that funds indefinite deficit spending.

The decision-relevant read for a holder: Lido can fund current operations, but its growth budget is levered to ETH. A sustained move back above $2,700 restores the original guidance without any governance action; a move lower forces either another take-rate increase, which squeezes node-operator margins, or spending cuts to the very stVaults and Earn initiatives meant to diversify revenue. Track quarterly revenue reports against the $33.4M staking-fee line rather than TVL headlines — TVL in dollars moves with price, while fee revenue against a stated target is the number that reveals whether the DAO is growing or merely re-pricing.

stETH vs. Direct Staking vs. Centralized Exchange Staking: Which Fits Your Situation

The right Ethereum staking route is decided almost entirely by two variables: how much ETH you hold and whether you need that stake to remain usable inside DeFi. Below 32 ETH, liquid staking is the only practical option, because running a solo Ethereum validator requires a minimum of 32 ETH and the protocol offers no native staking delegation — an Ethereum address uses a single key rather than a split payment/staking key design . Lido's answer is to accept any deposit size and mint stETH 1:1 against it , at a protocol fee of 10% of staking rewards, split 5% to node operators and 5% to the DAO treasury .

Above 32 ETH, the calculus changes. Running your own validator — solo, or through a protocol such as Rocket Pool, which has required node operators to post a meaningful RPL self-bond since its earliest design — removes concentration exposure to a single dominant entity entirely. The trade is operational: uptime responsibility, key management, and Ethereum's slashing regime, which penalises validator misbehaviour by destroying part of the offending stake . That penalty risk is what a stETH holder outsources to Lido's operator set and, in return, underwrites.

If the stake needs to work as collateral, the token version matters more than the protocol. stETH rebases: balances update daily as the oracle reports consensus-layer changes, computed as (user shares × total pooled ether) / total shares. wstETH holds a static balance with a floating stETH-denominated price, which is why Aave V3 and Maker integrations prefer it — rebasing stETH forced custom accounting in Aave V2 and produced 1–2 wei rounding errors . For anyone borrowing against staked ETH, wrap first.

RouteMinimum capitalFee on rewardsDeFi usabilityMain trade-off
stETH (Lido pooled)Any amount10% (5% operator / 5% DAO)High, best via wstETHExposure to the largest validator entity
wstETH (wrapped)Any amountSame 10%Highest — Aave V3, MakerExtra wrap/unwrap step
Lido V3 stVaults250 ETH for the 0% infra-fee tier through 2026-03-31Customisable; infra fee cut 1% → 0% for identified vaultsRetains stETH liquiditySingle-address or DeFi-Wrapper access, not mass retail
Solo / Rocket Pool validator32 ETH (plus RPL bond for Rocket Pool)None to a pool DAOLow without a liquid tokenSlashing and uptime sit with you
CEX staking (Coinbase, Kraken, Binance)Any amountPlatform-setLimited to the venueCustodial and regulatory posture

For stakers who want to choose operators, policies and reward logic rather than accept pooled defaults, stVaults are the 2026-native answer. Lido V3 went live on mainnet January 30, 2026, with permissionless minting arriving in Phase 3 on March 2, 2026 . Each vault is a contract deployed by a specific node operator and accepts stake from a single address, with a DeFi Wrapper needed for multi-user access . Read that as institutional and large-treasury plumbing today, not a retail product.

Regulatory posture is the final filter, and it cuts differently across routes. SEC staff guidance issued September 25, 2026 confirmed that staking ETH does not make those tokens securities . That is meaningful relief, but it does not flatten the distinction between custodial staking-as-a-service and protocol-based liquid staking: the SEC's February 2023 enforcement action landed specifically on Kraken's staking-as-a-service business, forcing it to discontinue the U.S. product and pay $30 million . If counterparty and jurisdictional risk are your binding constraints, a non-custodial route — stETH held in your own wallet, or your own validator — keeps the asset and the legal question in your hands rather than a venue's.

The Entry Queue Bottleneck: What's Actually Slowing New Stake Down

Ethereum's validator entry queue, not a shortage of willing capital, is what currently caps how fast Lido or any other staking provider can grow. As of September 25, 2026, roughly 1.68 million ETH was waiting to enter the validator set, against only 154,000 ETH (about $413 million) queued to exit . That is an inbound-to-outbound ratio of roughly 11:1. Deposits are queue-gated, so a deposit made today earns nothing for weeks — a detail that changes the arithmetic of any short-horizon staking decision.

The gating mechanism is deliberate. Ethereum's consensus layer caps activations with a churn limit of 256 ETH per epoch, which works out to roughly 57,600 ETH admitted per day . At that rate, clearing 1.68 million ETH takes approximately one month. That is a meaningful improvement on the 2026 peak: on May 20, 2026 the queue held 3.59 million ETH and implied a 62-day wait . The backlog has halved, but it has not cleared.

The structural reason it keeps refilling is participation. Around 35.6% of total ETH supply is now staked — the highest share recorded — and every new institutional wrapper, ETP and vault product adds demand to a pipe whose throughput is fixed by protocol rule. This is also the clearest read on why Lido contributors waived the stVaults Lido Infrastructure fee, cutting it from 1% to 0% through March 31, 2026 for identified vaults above 250 ETH in total value: with the queue long, the competitive question was who captured commitments now, not who earned fees during the wait .

Practical implications worth separating out:

  • Buying stETH on the secondary market skips the queue. Existing stETH is already backed by active validators, so a market purchase inherits live rewards immediately rather than waiting a month. The trade-off is price: you pay whatever the market asks rather than minting 1:1.
  • Running your own validator inherits the full wait. A 32 ETH deposit today joins the same queue as everyone else, with no priority tier.
  • Exit liquidity is currently thin relative to entry demand. With only 154,000 ETH exiting, the near-term flow picture is one-directional — useful context, though not a forecast.

One risk sits underneath all three routes and does not scale away with size. Ethereum's proof-of-stake design uses slashing to penalise validator misbehaviour such as signing conflicting blocks, destroying part of the offending validator's stake and forcibly removing it from the network . Every stETH holder underwrites that slashing exposure indirectly, spread across Lido's node operator set, and every solo staker underwrites it directly on a single machine. Lido's scale diversifies the exposure across operators; it does not remove it. Judge the queue as a timing cost and slashing as a permanent cost of participation, because neither is priced into a headline APR figure.

What to Watch Next

Three measurable signals will tell you whether Lido's 2026 position strengthens or erodes over the next two quarters: daily DAO revenue against the NEST buyback trigger, custom-vault adoption against the DAO's own target, and market share against faster-growing rivals. Each has a published threshold, so you can check progress yourself rather than wait for a narrative.

  • Does daily revenue clear $109K again? NEST, activated August 14, 2026, routes 50% of daily DAO staking revenue above a roughly $109K/day baseline into LDO, capped at $50,000/day . Daily revenue ran near $75K in August 2026 and last crossed the trigger in April 2026, leaving the allocator holding about 41 stETH from a single August 28 transfer with no outbound allocation as of September 9 . Because the baseline is revenue-linked and revenue tracks ETH price, the buyback is effectively a bet on ETH recovering above the ~$2,000 level the DAO used in its February guidance cut .
  • Does the 1M ETH stVault target land? The DAO's stated 2026 goal is 1 million ETH staked through custom vaults plus institutional wrappers . Permissionless minting opened March 2, 2026, so the test is whether operators beyond the roughly twelve names listed on the stVaults page — Northstake, Solstice, P2P.org, Chorus One, Everstake, Linea, DSRV, Tane, Bware Labs, Nodes.Guru, PoPsTeam, SSV Network — actually deploy vaults .
  • Does the 23% share keep shrinking? Lido's share of all staked ETH fell to 23% by February 2026 while Ether.fi grew roughly 550% year-over-year against Lido's ~15%. Absolute ETH can rise while share falls; watch both, and watch whether the September 25, 2026 SEC staff position that staked ETH is not a security pulls more institutional stake toward regulated wrappers rather than Lido .

The practical takeaway: Lido's 9,797,947 ETH and roughly $26.2bn TVL make it the deepest, most liquid staking venue on Ethereum, and for most retail allocations stETH remains the default choice on liquidity grounds alone . But treat LDO and stETH as separate decisions. stETH's case rests on liquidity and the 10% fee being competitive; LDO's case rests on revenue clearing a threshold it has missed for five months. Set a calendar check for the next tokenholder update and the NEST allocator's on-chain balance — if revenue is still under $109K/day, the buyback narrative has not started yet, whatever the protocol's size suggests.

Frequently asked questions

Is Lido really Ethereum's largest validator?

Yes, but the answer depends on which denominator you use. Lido's own dashboard reports 9,797,947 ETH staked through the protocol and $26,166,450,307 in total value locked , which makes it the single largest entity in Ethereum's validator set. Against all staked ETH, Lido's February 2026 tokenholder update put its share at 23% , down from a reported 32% peak in late 2023 as institutional stakers entered . Against the liquid staking segment alone — about 14.4M ETH, per DefiLlama data reported by Bitcoin.com News — Lido holds roughly 62% . So it is dominant in liquid staking and merely the largest minority in the validator set overall, and both figures are accurate; they just measure different things.

What is the difference between stETH and wstETH?

stETH is a rebasing token: your balance changes daily when Lido's oracle reports consensus-layer rewards and penalties, calculated as (user shares × total pooled ether) / total shares . wstETH holds a static balance and instead carries a floating stETH-denominated price, so rewards show up as appreciation rather than as new units. That distinction is why DeFi venues such as Aave V3 and Maker prefer wstETH — rebasing balances forced custom accounting in Aave V2 and produced 1–2 wei rounding errors . Practical rule: hold stETH if you want a balance that visibly grows and you are not using it as collateral; wrap to wstETH before supplying it to a lending market or LP position.

What are Lido V3 stVaults and how are they different from regular staking?

stVaults are modular staking contracts that let a depositor choose the node operator, fee structure, policies and reward logic while still accessing stETH liquidity. Lido V3 went live on Ethereum mainnet on January 30, 2026, with Phase 2 on January 29 and permissionless minting in Phase 3 on March 2, 2026 . Regular Lido staking pools your ETH across the full operator set on standard terms; a stVault is deployed and run by one specific operator and accepts stake from a single address, with a DeFi Wrapper enabling multi-user access. Launch partners included Northstake, Solstice, P2P.org, Chorus One, Everstake and Linea, with DSRV, Tane, Bware Labs, Nodes.Guru, PoPsTeam and SSV Network also listed . Contributors also cut the Lido Infrastructure fee from 1% to 0% through March 31, 2026 for identified vaults above 250 ETH . In short: stVaults target institutions and large stakers who need control over counterparty and terms, not retail depositors staking a few ETH.

What is the NEST buyback and has it actually bought any LDO?

NEST is a permissionless daily mechanism activated August 14, 2026 that routes 50% of daily DAO staking revenue above a $40M annualized baseline — about $109,000 per day — into LDO purchases executed through CoW Swap using Stonks v2, capped at $50,000 per day and $10M on a rolling 365-day basis, with proceeds flowing to the treasury via an Aragon Agent contract in launch "Treasury-only" mode . In practice it has barely run: daily revenue was around $75,000 in August 2026 and last exceeded the $109,000 trigger in April 2026, and as of September 9 the allocator held roughly 41 stETH from a single August 28 transfer with no outbound allocation . The 10,025,866 LDO bought for 1,591 stETH that circulates in discussion came from a separate one-time LDO Accumulation Program approved April 13, 2026, not from NEST . Treat NEST as a conditional mechanism that is currently dormant rather than an active bid.

Is staking through Lido riskier than staking directly?

It trades one risk set for another. Staking via Lido adds smart-contract risk, oracle risk and protocol-concentration risk, and stETH holders still underwrite Ethereum's slashing penalties for validator misbehaviour . Against that, dual governance — originating as LIP-28, proposed May 8, 2025 — is live and gives stETH holders veto power over DAO decisions through a dynamic timelock that escalates once protest deposits reach 1% of total staked ETH, which is a meaningful protection depositors do not get from most alternatives. Solo staking removes protocol and governance risk entirely but requires a minimum 32 ETH deposit, no native delegation on Ethereum, and hands-on operational upkeep. Lido charges 10% of staking rewards, split 5% to node operators and 5% to the DAO treasury , against a headline 2.2% APR . One regulatory overhang has eased: SEC staff guidance issued September 25, 2026 confirmed that staking ETH does not make those tokens securities .

Enjoyed this article? Subscribe to get new stories by email whenever they're published.

Subscribe