Hashi's $500M is a pledge, not a deposit. Watch this number

Hashi's $500M is partner commitments, not deposits. How native BTC collateral on Sui works, who is backing it, and

Hashi's $500M is a pledge, not a deposit. Watch this number

Headlines say Hashi is "launching with $500 million." That figure is money partners have promised to provide. It is not money already sitting in the protocol, and the gap between the two will tell traders more than the headline does.

Is Hashi's $500M Real Money Yet? Commitments vs. Deposits

Not yet. The $500 million is capital that more than 20 launch partners have committed to provide as initial liquidity. The Sui Foundation announced it on October 8, 2026 . None of it is native BTC already deposited into Hashi. Hashi is a Bitcoin collateral network built by Mysten Labs. It lets holders lock native BTC on the Bitcoin network and use it as collateral in Sui applications without a bridge or a custodial wrapped token. Until mainnet goes live and real deposits arrive, the $500 million is a pledge (source: CoinDesk, 2026-10).

Quick Answer: Hashi's $500 million is pledged capital, not deposited BTC. A coalition of 20+ partners committed more than $500M in initial liquidity, as the Sui Foundation announced on October 8, 2026. Mainnet rolls out in phases starting in October 2026, with no exact date given. Real adoption will show up in BTC deposits and hBTC minted after launch.

The timing is also loose. The Sui Foundation said only that the mainnet rollout will be phased and will begin in October 2026 . Neither the foundation nor any of the coverage gave an exact go-live date. The first phase is expected to support native BTC deposits, hBTC minting, and using BTC as collateral in live Sui apps. Coverage from Crypto Briefing says the announcement was made at Sui Basecamp and also describes the figure as commitments rather than deposits .

Three different numbers are getting blurred together. Here is what each one measures:

  • Commitment (pledge): A partner's stated intent to supply capital, such as stablecoin liquidity or BTC, once the protocol is live. It is announced off-chain, it often has no individual amount disclosed, and nothing has moved yet.
  • Deposit: Native BTC actually sent to a personalized Hashi deposit address on the Bitcoin network, secured by 2-of-2 multisig. You can check it on-chain (source: Sui, Hashi product page).
  • hBTC minted: The BTC-backed token Sui validators issue on Sui after they reach quorum that a deposit has landed. Outstanding hBTC supply is the clearest single measure of how much Bitcoin is really working inside Hashi.

Traders tend to read pledge figures as TVL (total value locked), meaning assets actually held by a protocol's smart contracts. Announcements put a large round number in the headline, and dashboards later show deposits under similar wording, so the two get treated as the same thing. They are not. Commitments can arrive slowly, arrive in pieces, or depend on market conditions. Some partner amounts are not disclosed at all. Anchorage Digital, for example, joined as a launch partner without saying how much it will contribute .

Mysten Labs presents the capital as a sign that institutions are ready to take part:

"Hashi is launching with serious capital and a coalition of industry leaders because institutions want to put Bitcoin to work without giving up the protections they require," — Adeniyi Abiodun, Co-founder and CPO at Mysten Labs (source: CoinDesk)

That may turn out to be true, but a quote is not a balance. The figure worth checking is not $500 million. It is how much native BTC is deposited and how much hBTC is minted in the weeks after each mainnet phase opens. If deposits climb toward the pledged level, the coalition is delivering. If they stall well below it, the headline overstated how ready these partners were to commit capital (source: Cointelegraph, 2026-10).

How Does Hashi Let You Use Native BTC as Collateral on Sui?

Hashi lets you lock native BTC on the Bitcoin network and use it as collateral in Sui applications. You do not sell the coins, send them through a cross-chain bridge or hand them to a custodian that issues a wrapped token. You deposit BTC to an address secured by 2-of-2 multisig. Sui validators then mint a matching token called hBTC, and you use hBTC as collateral in Sui smart contracts. When you exit, the hBTC is burned and your native BTC is returned . According to CoinDesk, the first mainnet phase is expected to support exactly this cycle: native BTC deposits, hBTC minting and using BTC as collateral in live Sui apps .

Sui's Hashi product page describes the flow in four steps:

  1. Deposit. You send native BTC to a personalized deposit address generated by Hashi and secured by 2-of-2 multisig. The BTC stays on the Bitcoin network .
  2. Mint. Sui validators watch the Bitcoin network. Once they reach quorum that the deposit is confirmed, they mint the matching BTC-backed token, hBTC, on Sui .
  3. Use as collateral. You post hBTC as collateral in Sui smart contracts. Each application sets its own loan-to-value (LTV) ratio and price oracles. LTV is the maximum you can borrow as a share of your collateral's value .
  4. Exit. You repay any open positions, the hBTC is burned, and native BTC is sent back to a Bitcoin address through MPC (multi-party computation) signing by the validator set .

Step 3 is where trading risk comes in. The LTV and oracle settings are chosen by each application, not fixed by Hashi. So two Sui lending markets that both accept hBTC can liquidate you at different BTC prices. Before posting collateral, check the specific app's LTV, liquidation threshold and oracle source rather than assuming one standard applies across the ecosystem.

The main difference from older ways of using BTC elsewhere is where the coins sit and who controls the token:

  • Compared with selling: you keep your BTC exposure. Hashi works on a debt basis, so you borrow against your BTC instead of selling it. Sui also says this structure may avoid taxable disposition events depending on jurisdiction, but that is the project's own claim, not an independent ruling .
  • Compared with cross-chain bridges: there is no bridge hop. Typically, a bridge locks BTC in a contract or vault it controls and sends a representation of it to another chain. Hashi keeps the BTC in a Bitcoin address with multisig controls and relies on validator quorum to mint and burn.
  • Compared with custodial wrapped tokens (WBTC-style): no single custodian holds the BTC and issues the token on request. Minting and redemption follow on-chain rules and validator signing, not a custodian's approval process .

Hashi is not a lending product itself. According to Cointelegraph, Mysten Labs builds the collateral infrastructure, while third parties create and offer the financial products on top. Expected vault providers include Aftermath, Concrete and Fluid . Native Sui DeFi protocols AlphaLend, Navi, Scallop and Suilend committed in March 2026 to building on Hashi . In practice, you will see Hashi's mechanics through these apps. That means your actual terms, fees and liquidation rules depend on which app you choose, not only on Hashi's base design.

Who Is Backing Hashi, and What Has Each Partner Actually Committed?

Hashi's backers are a coalition of more than 20 custodians, trading firms, wallet makers and DeFi protocols, led by Mysten Labs, which builds the infrastructure. Together they have committed over $500 million . No public source breaks that pledge down by partner. Coverage names who is involved and what each one does, but it gives no per-firm dollar amounts. Even the newest and most prominent partner, Anchorage Digital, has not disclosed its contribution (source: CoinDesk, 2026-10).

The partner that matters most for institutional flow is Anchorage Digital. According to CoinDesk, Anchorage joined as a launch partner on October 9, 2026 . It will connect its institutional clients to Hashi through its settlement infrastructure, which is reported as the Atlas tri-party collateral platform, and through its Porto self-custody wallet. It also plans to supply stablecoin liquidity (source: Crypto Briefing, 2026-10) .

"Public companies and institutions hold enormous amounts of Bitcoin, but their ability to use that capital has been constrained by the technology available to them," — Nathan McCauley, CEO at Anchorage Digital (source: Cointelegraph)

Mysten Labs co-founder and CPO Adeniyi Abiodun presents the coalition as proof of demand: "Hashi is launching with serious capital and a coalition of industry leaders because institutions want to put Bitcoin to work without giving up the protections they require" (source: CoinDesk, 2026-10). This is a statement about intent. It does not tell you how much capital has been deployed.

The coalition grew in three stages:

  • March 2026 launch list: institutional, custody and infrastructure partners including BitGo, Bullish, Erebor Bank, FalconX, Fordefi, Ledger, Blockdaemon, Cobo, Cubist, Soter Insure and CF Benchmarks. Native Sui DeFi protocols AlphaLend, Navi, Scallop and Suilend committed to building on Hashi .
  • Before the July testnet: Cumberland, Fluid and SwissBorg joined .
  • October mainnet announcement: Cointelegraph names BitGo, Bullish, Cumberland, FalconX and Ledger as coalition members, and lists Aftermath, Concrete and Fluid as expected vault providers. Anchorage Digital was added at this stage .

The table below collects every role that has been publicly attributed to a partner. The last column is the important one.

PartnerCategoryReported roleDisclosed commitment
Anchorage DigitalInstitutional custodyClient access via Atlas and Porto; stablecoin liquidityNot disclosed
BitGoCustodyCoalition member since March 2026Not disclosed
BullishExchangeCoalition memberNot disclosed
CumberlandTrading / liquidityJoined before July testnetNot disclosed
FalconXPrime brokerageCoalition memberNot disclosed
LedgerWallet / self-custodyCoalition memberNot disclosed
Aftermath, Concrete, FluidVault providersExpected to offer Hashi vaultsNot disclosed
AlphaLend, Navi, Scallop, SuilendSui DeFi protocolsCommitted to build on HashiNot disclosed
Erebor Bank, Fordefi, Blockdaemon, Cobo, CubistBanking / infrastructureMarch 2026 partner listNot disclosed
Soter Insure, CF BenchmarksInsurance / pricing dataMarch 2026 partner listNot disclosed
Coalition total (20+ partners)AllInitial liquidity pledgeOver $500M combined

For traders, every row except the total says "not disclosed." That means you cannot tell whether the $500 million is spread across many firms or concentrated in a few. You also cannot tell whether it is BTC collateral, stablecoin liquidity or a mix of both. A long partner list shows that firms have agreed to integrate. It does not show how much capital each one will put in. Mysten Labs builds the rails, and third parties create the products . So the clearest early signal will be which of these names actually launch live vaults and lending markets after mainnet, and how quickly they do it.

How Does Hashi's Security Model Work, and What Is Still Unproven?

Hashi protects deposited BTC with four layers. Sui validators sign with threshold Schnorr signatures, a Guardian backstop can slow or block withdrawals, Move smart contracts enforce ownership and liquidation, and real-time oracles trigger collateral calls . CoinDesk reports outside reviews of the contracts and the cryptography . The design has not yet been tested with real mainnet capital, and validator collusion and oracle failure remain the main risks. Sui's own Hashi product page describes each layer this way:

  • Threshold Schnorr signatures (MPC): Multi-party computation (MPC) is a method where several parties jointly produce a signature without any single party holding the full key. No single Sui validator can move the BTC alone. Withdrawals need a quorum of validators to sign together .
  • Guardian backstop: This is a separate layer that can slow down or block suspicious withdrawals. It also caps how fast funds can leave the system. Its main job is to defend against validators colluding. The Bitcoin.com testnet coverage notes that Sui highlighted this layer when the global testnet went live in July 2026 .
  • Move smart contracts: On-chain code that records who owns which hBTC and runs the liquidation logic when a position becomes undercollateralized.
  • Real-time oracles: Price feeds that automate collateral calls and liquidations, so loan-to-value limits respond to BTC price moves without waiting for anyone to step in by hand.

Two outside firms have reviewed parts of the stack. According to CoinDesk (2026-10), Certora verified the smart contracts and CommonPrefix reviewed the MPC cryptography . That is a reasonable baseline for a new protocol, but an audit has limits. It checks code and cryptographic design against a specification. It does not show how validators, oracles and the Guardian will behave together under heavy load or in a fast-moving market.

Traders should keep three failure modes in mind as phased mainnet begins:

  • Validator collusion: MPC spreads trust across validators but does not remove the need to trust them. If enough of them coordinated, they could in theory sign an unauthorized withdrawal. The Guardian's rate limits are meant to give time to catch this, but no one knows yet how well that works with real money at stake.
  • Oracle risk: Because liquidations are automated, a delayed, manipulated or briefly wrong price feed could trigger liquidations that shouldn't happen, or miss ones that should. This matters most during sharp BTC moves, when borrowers are already under stress.
  • Load and operations: Devnet started in March 2026 and testnet in July 2026, and more than 25 institutions took part in testing . Testnet conditions still differ from mainnet, where real deposits create real incentives to attack.

Two other claims should be read for what they are. First, Sui lists custody-layer Bitcoin insurance, paid out in BTC, as "coming soon" . Do not count on it as protection until it is live and the terms are published. Second, Sui says Hashi's debt-based structure may avoid taxable disposal events, depending on where you live. Bitcoin.com reports that Sui cites a legal analysis saying deposits and redemptions are not taxable events under U.S. law . That analysis is the project's own position, not a ruling from a tax authority or a court. Anyone with a large BTC position should check it with their own tax adviser before relying on it.

Hashi vs. Bridges vs. Wrapped BTC vs. CeFi Lending: Which Fits Which Trader?

Hashi is the best fit for BTC holders who want to keep coins on the Bitcoin network and borrow against them on-chain without a bridge or a custodial wrapped token. It also carries the most launch risk of the four options, because it has no mainnet track record yet. Its phased mainnet rollout was only announced on October 8, 2026, and the announcement gave no exact go-live date . Bridges, custodial wrapped BTC and centralized lenders are older, and each one makes you trust a different party. The right choice depends on which risk you would rather carry.

Use seven criteria to compare the options:

  • Custody model: who controls the underlying BTC.
  • Trust assumptions: whose honesty or competence you depend on.
  • Withdrawal path: how you get native BTC back, and who can block it.
  • Liquidity depth: how much borrowing and trading capacity exists today.
  • Maturity: how long the system has run with real money.
  • Insurance: whether losses are covered, and by whom.
  • Tax posture: whether depositing or redeeming may count as a taxable disposal.

The table below applies these criteria. The Hashi column uses the project's published design and the coverage of its launch, as listed on Sui's product page . The other three columns describe how those categories are generally built. They are not new figures or ratings for any particular bridge, token or lender.

CriterionHashi (native BTC)Cross-chain bridgesCustodial wrapped BTCCentralized (CeFi) lender
Custody modelBTC locked on Bitcoin in a personalized 2-of-2 multisig deposit addressBTC held by bridge contracts or a bridge signer setBTC held by a custodian, with tokens issued on another chainBTC handed over to the lender's custody
Trust assumptionsSui validator MPC (threshold Schnorr) plus a Guardian backstopBridge validators or relayers and the contract codeThe custodian's solvency and honestyThe lender's solvency, risk management and rehypothecation policy
Withdrawal pathRepay, burn hBTC, then native BTC is returned through MPC signing. The Guardian can slow suspicious exitsThrough the bridge's release mechanismRedemption through the custodian or an approved merchantThe lender processes the withdrawal and can pause it
Liquidity depthOver $500M pledged, not yet depositedDepends on the bridgeVaries by token and chainDepends on the lender's balance sheet
Mainnet track recordNone yet (devnet March 2026, testnet July 2026)Established categoryEstablished categoryEstablished category
InsuranceCustody-layer BTC insurance listed as "coming soon"Generally none at the protocol levelDepends on the custodianDepends on the lender
Tax postureSui says the debt-based design may avoid disposal events. This is the project's claim, not a rulingSwapping into a bridged token may count as a disposal, depending on jurisdictionWrapping may count as a disposal, depending on jurisdictionA loan is generally not a sale, depending on jurisdiction

The Hashi figures in the table come from the following sources. The $500 million is a commitment from more than 20 partners, not capital already on deposit . Devnet launched on March 19, 2026 . The global testnet went live on July 22, 2026 . For more context, see CoinDesk and Cointelegraph.

One-line takeaway for each option:

  • Hashi: Suits traders who want native BTC to stay on Bitcoin and who are comfortable being early users of a mainnet with no track record. It is best tested with small amounts until real deposit and hBTC figures are published.
  • Cross-chain bridges: Suit traders who need BTC exposure on a specific chain today and accept the risk of the bridge's contracts and signers.
  • Custodial wrapped BTC: Suits traders who value deep, established on-chain liquidity and accept that a single custodian controls the underlying coins.
  • CeFi lenders: Suit traders who want a simple loan and are willing to give up custody and depend on the lender's solvency and withdrawal policies.

What Are the Use Cases, and Who Should Care Now vs. Later?

Hashi's planned uses mostly involve borrowing and earning against native BTC without selling it. The main ones are stablecoin loans, lending markets, credit origination, vault strategies, structured products, real-world-asset (RWA) products and Bitcoin-backed bonds (source: Cointelegraph, 2026-10) . Who should act now depends on whether you need liquidity today or can wait for mainnet data. Institutions are the stated first audience.

Mysten Labs builds the collateral layer, but third parties will design and offer the actual products. Each use case therefore depends on a specific partner shipping it. The use cases listed in the March 2026 launch post and the October coverage are :

  • Stablecoin borrowing: lock BTC, mint hBTC and borrow stablecoins against it. This is the simplest way to get liquidity without selling.
  • Lending markets: Sui money markets that accept hBTC as collateral. AlphaLend, Navi, Scallop and Suilend have committed to building on Hashi.
  • Credit origination: loans for institutional borrowers, backed by BTC.
  • Vault strategies: automated strategies from expected vault providers such as Aftermath, Concrete and Fluid.
  • Structured products, RWA products and Bitcoin-backed bonds: more complex products that will probably arrive after the basic lending markets.

Matching these to reader types:

  • Long-term BTC holders who want liquidity: Hashi is relevant here because you can borrow without selling. Sui says the debt-based design may avoid taxable disposition events. That is the project's own claim, and how it applies depends on your jurisdiction. Wait until live loan-to-value ratios and liquidation behavior have been observed before committing large positions.
  • Active DeFi traders on Sui: you will likely be among the first users once hBTC is listed in lending markets. Watch early liquidity depth and oracle behavior closely, because thin markets at launch can make liquidations more severe.
  • Institutions and corporate treasuries: this is the stated target. Access is expected through custodians such as Anchorage Digital and BitGo, which have their own onboarding processes.
  • Observers and cautious holders: waiting is a reasonable choice. Mainnet rolls out in phases starting in October 2026 with no exact date published, and the system has not yet run under real mainnet conditions .

The market-size figures need careful reading. According to CoinDesk, Hashi targets roughly $1 trillion in dormant institutional Bitcoin . Bitcoin.com instead cited Bitcoin's total market value of about $1.4 trillion when the testnet launched in July 2026 . The first number is an estimate of idle institutional holdings. The second is the value of all BTC, so the two cannot be swapped. Neither number tells you how much BTC will actually be deposited. The pledged $500 million is less than 0.05% of the $1 trillion estimate, which shows how far adoption has to go before either figure means much.

Hashi Timeline: From Devnet to Phased Mainnet

It took Hashi about seven months to go from announcement to a mainnet plan. Mysten Labs announced it and opened a devnet on March 19, 2026 . A global testnet went live on July 22, 2026 . On October 8, 2026, the Sui Foundation said mainnet would roll out in phases starting this month . No exact go-live day has been published, so "October" is still the most precise date available. Each stage added partners, but none of them has tested the system with real BTC at scale.

Here are the milestones in order:

  • March 19, 2026: announcement and devnet. Mysten Labs introduced Hashi as a way to use native BTC as collateral on Sui and launched it on devnet (source: Sui Blog, 2026-03; Sui Monthly, 2026-03) .
  • July 22, 2026: global testnet live. More than 25 institutions tested Hashi, including BitGo, Cumberland, FalconX, Ledger, Blockdaemon, Bullish, Navi and Scallop. This stage put the Guardian Layer, the withdrawal-limiting backstop, front and center (source: Bitcoin.com News, 2026-07) .
  • October 8, 2026: phased mainnet announced. More than 20 launch partners have committed over $500 million in capital, and Anchorage Digital has joined as a launch partner (source: Cointelegraph, 2026-10) .
  • Phase one (expected October 2026). Native BTC deposits, hBTC minting, and using BTC as collateral in live Sui apps .

The partner list on the testnet matters because it is mostly the same group now pledging capital. BitGo, Cumberland, FalconX, Ledger and Bullish appear both among the July testers and in Cointelegraph's coalition list for October . These firms have already run the deposit and redemption flow in a test setting. That improves the odds that pledges turn into real deposits, but it does not guarantee it.

A phased rollout also means the full set of products described elsewhere in this article will not be available on day one. Phase one covers the base layer: depositing BTC, minting hBTC and posting it as collateral. Vault strategies from providers such as Aftermath, Concrete and Fluid, along with structured products, come later. Sui's custody-layer Bitcoin insurance is still listed as "coming soon" (source: Sui Hashi page). The coverage gives no dates for later phases. If you track the rollout, judge each phase by whether it actually ships, not by what was announced.

What Numbers Should You Watch After Launch to Judge Hashi?

To judge Hashi after launch, look at what is actually on-chain and ignore the announcements. Track how much native BTC is deposited and how much hBTC is minted, and compare both with the more than $500 million that launch partners committed . That figure is promised capital, not money already deposited (source: Crypto Briefing, 2026-10). The gap between the two numbers tells you more than any partner list.

The checklist below covers what the first mainnet phase is meant to deliver: deposits, minting and collateral use in live Sui apps (source: CoinDesk, 2026-10).

  • Native BTC deposited: BTC held at Hashi's 2-of-2 multisig deposit addresses on the Bitcoin network . This is the base number. Everything else depends on it.
  • hBTC supply vs. the $500M pledge: convert the hBTC supply to dollars and divide by the committed amount. This pledged-to-deposited ratio is the clearest test of whether the coalition's commitments are turning into real use.
  • Borrow volume and utilization: idle hBTC means the collateral exists but nobody is borrowing against it. Look for real stablecoin borrowing in lending markets such as Navi, Scallop, Suilend and AlphaLend .
  • Liquidation events: check whether oracle-triggered liquidations run cleanly during BTC price swings, without bad debt.
  • Guardian interventions: the Guardian backstop can slow or block suspicious withdrawals (source: Sui, 2026-10). Note how often it acts and whether withdrawals still complete on schedule.
  • Vault provider TVL: watch deposits at Aftermath, Concrete and Fluid once their products go live .

These red flags should make you more cautious:

  • The pledged-to-deposited ratio stays low weeks after launch.
  • Liquidity is thin, so moderate-size borrows or exits move rates or stall.
  • There are oracle mispricings, delayed liquidations or unexplained Guardian holds.
  • Custody-layer Bitcoin insurance is still listed as "coming soon" .
  • No exact go-live date is published beyond "October". Neither the Sui Foundation nor the coverage has given one (source: Cointelegraph, 2026-10).

A simple decision framework for retail traders:

  1. Wait for 4–8 weeks of mainnet data before committing meaningful BTC. Contracts verified by Certora and MPC cryptography reviewed by CommonPrefix are useful signals , but neither has been tested under live mainnet load.
  2. Keep positions small if you go in early. Treat them as a test of deposits and redemptions. Borrow at a conservative loan-to-value ratio.
  3. Check claims against on-chain data, not press releases. That includes the tax-treatment claim, which comes from Sui's own legal analysis and is not an independent ruling (source: Bitcoin.com, 2026-07).
  4. Test the exit first: do a small redemption back to a Bitcoin address before you scale up.

The bottom line is that the $500 million number matters only once it shows up as BTC locked on Bitcoin and hBTC being borrowed against on Sui. Track deposits, utilization and liquidation behavior through the first months of mainnet, and let that data decide how much exposure you take. This is not financial advice. Do your own research and size positions to what you can afford to lose.

Frequently Asked Questions

Has Hashi's $500 million actually been deposited?

No. The $500 million is capital that more than 20 launch partners have promised to provide as initial liquidity. It has not been deposited into the protocol . According to Crypto Briefing, the figure was announced at Sui Basecamp as a commitment. It is not a measure of locked value . Real usage will show up after launch in two numbers: how much native BTC is locked at Hashi deposit addresses on Bitcoin, and how much hBTC is minted and borrowed against on Sui.

When does Hashi mainnet launch?

The Sui Foundation said on October 8, 2026 that Hashi's mainnet will roll out in phases starting in October 2026. It has not published an exact go-live date . CoinDesk reports that the first phase is expected to support three things: native BTC deposits, hBTC minting and using BTC as collateral in live Sui applications. Later phases have not been dated.

Is Hashi a bridge or wrapped Bitcoin?

Not in the traditional sense. A user sends native BTC to a personal deposit address on the Bitcoin network, secured by 2-of-2 multisig. Once Sui validators reach quorum confirming the deposit, they mint a matching BTC-backed token called hBTC on Sui . To exit, the user repays any open positions, the hBTC is burned, and native BTC is sent back to a Bitcoin address through MPC (multi-party computation) signing, according to Sui's Hashi product page. The BTC stays on Bitcoin rather than passing through a cross-chain bridge or a custodian's wrapped token. hBTC still works as a representation of that BTC on Sui, so you take on some of the same trust questions as with other BTC tokens.

Who is backing Hashi?

Anchorage Digital joined as a launch partner in October 2026. It plans to give institutional clients access through its settlement infrastructure and Porto self-custody wallet, and to supply stablecoin liquidity. The size of its contribution has not been disclosed . Cointelegraph lists other coalition members, including BitGo, Bullish, Cumberland, FalconX and Ledger. It also names Aftermath, Concrete and Fluid among the expected vault providers . Sui DeFi protocols AlphaLend, Navi, Scallop and Suilend committed to building on Hashi at its March 2026 announcement . Most partners have not disclosed how much they are committing.

Is borrowing against BTC on Hashi tax-free?

That is not established. Sui says Hashi's debt-based structure may avoid taxable disposition events, depending on jurisdiction . Bitcoin.com reports that Sui cites a legal analysis saying deposits and redemptions do not trigger taxable events under U.S. law . This is the project's own claim, not a ruling from a tax authority or a court. Rules differ by country, so check with a qualified tax professional before relying on it.

What are the main risks of using Hashi?

Hashi has run on devnet and testnet but has not yet been tested under real mainnet conditions. CoinDesk reports that Certora verified the smart contracts and CommonPrefix reviewed the MPC cryptography . Key risks remain:

  • Validator collusion: Validators sign withdrawals together, so a group of them colluding is a threat. The Guardian backstop is designed to slow or block suspicious withdrawals.
  • Oracle and liquidation risk: Real-time price feeds trigger collateral calls automatically, so a sharp BTC move or a bad price feed could liquidate a position.
  • Smart-contract risk: Audits reduce the chance of bugs but cannot rule them out.
  • No insurance yet: Sui lists custody-layer Bitcoin insurance, paid in BTC, as "coming soon," so it is not live .

Last updated: 2026-10-11. FAQ checked against Sui Foundation, CoinDesk, Cointelegraph, Bitcoin.com and Crypto Briefing coverage of the Hashi mainnet announcement.

Enjoyed this article? Subscribe to get new stories by email whenever they're published.

Subscribe